Metropolitan Police Department

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

MPD Announces Police District Boundary Changes

Thursday, January 10, 2019

Today, January 10, 2019, the Metropolitan Police Department’s (MPD) new police district and police service area boundaries will go into effect. Transition activities have been underway since November 2018 to ensure continuity in police services. MPD conducted a comprehensive assessment of our boundaries to ensure optimal operations. After a nine month review of our current boundaries and taking into account current workload, anticipated population growth, economic development, and community needs, MPD is pleased to announce new district boundaries to all seven districts.

MPD’s overarching goals for the 2019 realignment effort include:

  • Optimal availability of police resources
  • Officer safety and wellness
  • Efficient delivery of police services

All police districts will see some change. Some districts have minor adjustments while others — such as the First, Third, and Fifth police districts — will have more significant changes.

Neighborhoods affected include:

  • Mount Pleasant (4D to 3D)
  • Park View (3D to 4D)
  • Fairlawn (7D to 6D)
  • Small portion of Capitol Hill/H Street Area (1D to 5D)
  • Truxton Circle/Bloomingdale (5D to 3D)
  • Portion of downtown, including City Center (1D to 2D)

DC is a growing city. Our population has increased 15 percent since 2010 and is expected to reach nearly 850,000 by 2030. MPD is realigning its service areas to better fit the needs of every resident, visitor, and employee in the District of Columbia.

For more information about the District’s 2019 realignment, please visit: