Metropolitan Police Department

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Fourth District Community

Fourth District (small header flag with community image)

The Fourth District covers the upper Northwest (east of Rock Creek Park) and Northeast quadrants of the city, including the neighborhoods of Carter Baron, 16th Street Heights, Fort Totten, Lamond/Riggs, Shepherd ParkTakoma, and Petworth. A diverse mix of business and residential areas, the community is composed mostly of low-density single family homes and row houses, with some public housing developments. Major business corridors in the district include 14th Street, Georgia and New Hampshire Avenues, Kennedy Street and Riggs Road. The Fourth District is also home to some Civil War fort sites and the Takoma Historic District.

With the PSA restructuring that took effect in 2012, the Fourth District now has nine Police Service Areas (or PSAs). View some of the community resources available to all residents of the Fourth District (for additional resources, see the DC Guide):

4D Community Websites