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he Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) is the agency responsible for transferring and 

registering firearms in the District of Columbia. This guide provides you with the

information you need to comply with the District’s laws regarding legal transfer and

registration of your weapon. By being familiar with the law and the process, you will be 

able to quickly and easily transfer and register your weapon and ensure that you are in 

compliance. While this document aims to provide you with what you need to legally transfer, 

register and possess your firearm, for further interpretation or guidance, you may wish to consult 

with a private attorney. 

As a gun owner, you understand how important it is to be responsible and to follow a few 

basic rules:(1) always treat every firearm as if it is loaded; (2) never point a firearm in a direction 

that would injure a person in case of accidental discharge; and (3) keep your finger off the trigger 

unless you are ready to fire.  

The District also encourages you to take the necessary measures to ensure that your firearm 

is securely stored. Too often our police officers are faced with the devastating realities of gun 

violence, either intentional or accidental. Having an improperly stored gun in your home can be a 

significant risk factor for injury and death. In fact, firearm-related injuries are a leading cause of 

death to children, and include deaths from unintentional injury, homicide, and suicide. 

That’s why MPD, with assistance from Project ChildSafe, provides a gun lock free of charge for 

each gun registered in the District of Columbia. The locks are simple to use and easy to install. Gun 

owners are strongly encouraged to use a gun lock to reduce the likelihood of accidental injury or 

death. In addition, it is illegal in the District of Columbia for any person to possess a firearm in the 

home if a minor under the age of 18 is likely to gain access to a firearm without the permission of the 

parent or guardian, unless the registered owner complies with the storage provisions outlined in Part 

III, Section 7 of this guide.  

T 

METROPOLITAN POLICE DEPARTMENT FIREARMS REGISTRATION BRANCH 

HOURS: 

ADDRESS: 

TELEPHONE: 

Email: 

WEB: 

Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. 

300 Indiana Avenue, NW, Room 3058 
Washington, DC 20001 

(202) 727-4275

firearms.adminbox@dc.gov 

mpdc.dc.gov/firearms 
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IMPORTANT THINGS TO REMEMBER 

Key Terms Used in this Guide 

▪ D.C. Official Code: The laws of the District of Columbia. Individuals may access the current

Code online at code.dccouncil.us.

▪ FFL or Federal Firearms Licensee: An entity authorized by the U.S. government to sell and

buy firearms.

▪ FRB or Firearms Registration Branch: The branch of the Metropolitan Police Department

(MPD) that transfers handguns and registers firearms for the public.

Retrieving Your Firearm from a Dealer 

Under DC law, a firearms dealer cannot release a firearm to a purchaser until 10 days after the 

initial date of purchase. (D.C. Official Code § 22-4508) The seller will not release your firearm 

until you return with your approved registration certificate. Although MPD may process an 

application for registration in fewer than 10 days, the buyer cannot pick up the gun from the 

dealer until 10 days after initial purchase. 

Transporting a Firearm  

When transporting your firearm in a vehicle, it must be unloaded, with neither the firearm nor 

any ammunition readily accessible or directly accessible from the passenger compartment of the 

transporting vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the driver's 

compartment, the firearm or ammunition must be unloaded and contained in a locked container 

other than the glove compartment or console. If you are transporting your firearm in a manner 

other than in a vehicle, it must be unloaded, inside a locked container, and separate from any 

ammunition.  

Whenever in possession of a firearm, a registrant shall have in his or her possession the 

registration certificate, or exact photocopy thereof, for such firearm, and exhibit the same upon 

the demand of a law enforcement officer. (D.C. Official Code § 7-2502.08)  

Do not bring your firearm or ammunition with you when you register your firearm. Please note 

that it is illegal to possess a magazine that holds more than ten rounds of ammunition in the 

District of Columbia.  

file:///C:/Users/colin.hall/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/QSV3991P/code.dccouncil.us
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FIREARMS TRANSFER AND REGISTRATION PROCEDURES IN BRIEF 

Newly Purchased Firearm 

To register a newly purchased firearm, the applicant must provide a completed MPD 

“Application for Firearms Registration Certificate” (or PD-219), that becomes your firearms 

registration certificate. You should request a PD-219 from MPD before you shop for a firearm. 

You may pick it up at MPD’s Firearms Registration Branch (FRB), request that it be mailed to 

you, or download it online (mpdc.dc.gov/firearms).  

Part of the PD-219 must be completed by the SELLER. The seller is identified in each of the 

possible scenarios below.  

Rifle or Shotgun 

▪ Under federal law, you may purchase a rifle or shotgun in a state in which you do not live

from a Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL). In this instance, the SELLER is whoever initially

sells the firearm to you.

▪ You will complete the rest of the application and bring it to MPD along with all other

necessary materials to complete the registration process; the FFL will hold the firearm until it

is approved by MPD.

▪ Once the application is approved1, MPD will notify you. You can pick up your registration

certificate or request that it be mailed to you. Your registration process is then complete.

▪ After you get the registration certificate, bring it to the dealer to pick up your rifle or

shotgun.2

Handgun 

▪ Under federal law, a handgun purchased in a state in which you do not live MUST be

transferred through an FFL in your state of residence. MPD is currently the only FFL

conducting commercial transfers in the District of Columbia. The fee for this service,

pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 7–2504.10(d), is $125 per firearm.

▪ Once you purchase a firearm in another jurisdiction, request the original dealer to arrange to

ship the firearm to MPD, which will then become the SELLER. (At the time of this

publication, no FFLs in the District are providing retail sales to the public.) Contact the MPD

to schedule an appointment.

▪ Prior to the appointment, check mpdc.dc.gov/firearms for eligibility and a list of documents

required for firearms license and registration applications.

▪ During your appointment, MPD will provide and complete Section A of MPD’s “Application

for Firearms Registration Certificate” (PD-219) and the Branch of Alcohol, Tobacco,

Firearms and Explosives (ATF) “Firearms Transaction Record” (form 4473).

1 Under DC law, the Chief of Police must approve or deny an application for a registration certificate within a 60-day period 

beginning on the date the Chief receives the application, unless good cause is shown, including nonreceipt of information from 

sources outside the District government; provided, that in the case of an application to register a firearm validly registered under 

prior regulations, the Chief shall have 365 days after the receipt of such application to approve or deny such application. The 

Chief may hold in abeyance an application where there is a revocation proceeding pending against such person or organization. 

(D.C. Official Code § 7-2502.07(b)) 

2 Under DC law, a firearms dealer cannot release a firearm to a purchaser until 10 days after the initial date of purchase. (D.C. 

Official Code § 22-4508) Therefore, although MPD will process an application for registration in fewer than 10 days, the buyer 

cannot pick up the gun from the dealer until 10 days after initial purchase.

file:///C:/Users/12026/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/3418F8FV/mpdc.dc.gov/firearms
file:///C:/Users/12026/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/3418F8FV/mpdc.dc.gov/firearms


August 2020      Page 6 of 15 

▪ Submit all other required materials to MPD during your appointment and pay the necessary

fees (see District Government Fee Schedule under the Complete Firearms Registration

Procedures section in this Guide).

▪ Once the application is approved3, MPD will contact you to schedule another appointment to

pick up your handgun and registration.4

Previously Owned Firearm 

To register a firearm you already own, you must file an application immediately after the 

firearm is brought into the District. You can comply with this requirement by personally 

communicating your intent to register the firearm to MPD before bringing the gun into the 

District. You must then file an application for a registration certificate within 48 hours after 

communicating your intent to do so. 

▪ Please note that it is illegal to possess a magazine that holds more than ten rounds of

ammunition in the District of Columbia.

▪ A Firearm Application Addendum-Used Firearm Explanation Form must be completed for

all previously owned/used firearms. (Available online under Firearms Registration Forms at

mpdc.dc.gov/page/firearms-registration-forms) This form requires information on

seller/transferor and when, where, and location the firearm was obtained.

▪ Once the application is approved3, MPD will notify you. You can pick up your registration

certificate or request that it be mailed to you. Your registration process is then complete.

3 Under DC law, the Chief of Police must approve or deny an application for a registration certificate within a 60-day period 

beginning on the date the Chief receives the application, unless good cause is shown, including nonreceipt of information from 

sources outside the District government; provided, that in the case of an application to register a firearm validly registered under 

prior regulations, the Chief shall have 365 days after the receipt of such application to approve or deny such application. The 

Chief may hold in abeyance an application where there is a revocation proceeding pending against such person or organization. 

(D.C. Official Code § 7-2502.07(b)) 

4 Under DC law, a firearms dealer cannot release a firearm to a purchaser until 10 days after the initial date of purchase. (D.C. 

Official Code § 22-4508) Therefore, although MPD will process an application for registration in fewer than 10 days, the buyer 

cannot pick up the gun from the dealer until 10 days after initial purchase. 

file:///C:/Users/12026/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/3418F8FV/mpdc.dc.gov/page/firearms-registration-forms
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COMPLETE FIREARMS TRANSFER AND REGISTRATION PROCEDURES 

1. Complete MPD’s Application for Firearms Registration Certificate (PD-219).

a. Download form PD-219 (mpdc.dc.gov/page/firearms-registration-forms), pick up a copy

at MPD office, or contact MPD to request that a form be mailed to you.

b. Fill out the “Purchaser/Owner’s Name” of the form. If you are buying a new gun, the

SELLER of the gun will complete Section A of the form.

c. The form must be signed by both the purchaser and seller in the presence of each other.

2. Bring the completed PD-219 to the MPD, along with:

a. If you are purchasing a firearm, the dealer cannot release the firearm to you until you

have completed this process and return with a valid registration certificate, and until 10

days after the initial date of purchase.

b. Photo identification.

c. Proof of residency in the District of Columbia (e.g., a valid DC operator’s permit, DC

vehicle registration card, lease agreement for a residence in the District, the deed to your

home, or other legal document showing DC residency).

d. Proof that you have met the District’s requirement for a firearms safety training course.

This requirement can be met by producing:

i. A certificate of completion for MPD’s online Firearms Safety Training Course.

This course is available, free of charge, at mpdc.dc.gov/firearms, and takes

approximately 30 minutes to complete. If you do not have access to a computer,

you may use one at the office of the Firearms Registration Branch.

ii. Evidence that you have received firearms training in the United States military.

iii. A license from another state which requires firearms training equal to that

provided by MPD. Examples include, but are not limited to, a license or

certificate for hunting or armed service as a special police officer.

iv. Evidence that you have otherwise completed a firearms training or safety course

conducted by a firearms instructor that, as determined by the Chief, is equal to

that provided by the MPD.

3. Certify, in writing, that you are not legally blind.5

4. Pay the appropriate fees (see District Government Fee Schedule below).

5. Be fingerprinted for your background check.

6. If you are applying for a business bring a business license and proof of occupancy.

5 Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 7-1009(1), the term "blind person" means, and the term "blind" refers to, a person who is 

totally blind, has impaired vision of not more than 20/200 visual acuity in the better eye and for whom vision cannot be improved 

to better than 20/200, or who has loss of vision due wholly or in part to impairment of field vision or to other factors which affect 

the usefulness of vision to a like degree. Pursuant to DC Municipal Regulations § 24-2310.5, if MPD determines there are 

reasonable grounds to believe that the certification is not accurate, MPD may require the applicant to obtain a certification from a 

licensed optometrist that the applicant meets the vision requirement. 

file:///C:/Users/12026/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/3418F8FV/mpdc.dc.gov/page/firearms-registration-forms
file:///C:/Users/12026/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/3418F8FV/mpdc.dc.gov/firearms
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MPD will notify you once the application is approved. 

1. If you are registering a firearm that you already own, your registration process is

complete. You can pick up your registration certificate or request that it be mailed to you.

2. If you are registering a firearm that you have just purchased, your registration process is

complete, and MPD will contact you to schedule an appointment to retrieve the firearm.

District Government Fee Schedule 

Application for registration $13 

Fingerprinting / FBI Background Check $35 

Handgun transfer fee6 $125 

Concealed Carry Pistol License $75 

Fees must be paid at the time of application, and can be paid only by cash, debit, or credit card 

(Visa/Mastercard).  

6 In accordance with D.C. Official Code § 7–2504.10, the District may charge a fee to recover the cost of acting as a federal 

firearms licensee pursuant to subsection (a) of this section by charging $125 for each handgun. 
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GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR FIREARMS REGISTRATION 

I. Firearms Eligible for Registration

In general, rifles, shotguns, revolvers, and handguns may be registered in the District of 

Columbia. Please note that it is illegal to possess a magazine that holds more than ten rounds of 

ammunition in the District of Columbia. Per D.C. Official Code § 7-2502.02, registration of the 

following firearms is prohibited: 

1. Sawed-off shotguns;

2. Machine guns;

3. Short-barreled rifles;

4. An unsafe handgun prohibited under D.C. Official Code § 7-2505.04;

5. An assault weapon; or

6. A .50 BMG rifle.

For definitions of and more information about these prohibitions, please see the MPD 

publication, “Firearms Eligible for Registration,” which is available at MPD or at 

mpdc.dc.gov/firearms. 

II. Registrant Eligibility

Registration eligibility is summarized below. For complete details, please refer to D.C. Official 

Code § 7-2502.03. To obtain a registration certificate, an applicant or registrant must: 

1. Be 21 years of age or older. (Applicants between the age of 18 and 21 may qualify to register

a long gun7 if they have a notarized statement from their parent or guardian stating that the

parent or guardian assumes civil liability for all damages resulting from the applicant’s use of

the firearm. This special registration, however, will expire on the applicant’s 21st birthday.)

2. Not stand convicted of certain weapons offenses, or a felony in this or any other jurisdiction

(which includes all crimes punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year).

3. Not be under indictment for a crime of violence or a weapons offense.

4. Within the previous five years:

a. Not stand convicted: (1) of a narcotics or dangerous drug offense; (2) under D.C. Official

Code § 22-404 (assaults and threats) or § 22-407 (threats to do bodily harm), or a

violation of a similar statute in another jurisdiction; (3) of two or more violations of

driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (4) of an intrafamily offense punishable

as a misdemeanor; (5) of a misdemeanor involving certain firearms violations. (6)

Stalking; or (7) violation of an Extreme Risk Protection Order

b. Not have been acquitted of any criminal charge by reason of insanity or adjudicated a

chronic alcoholic by any court.

c. Not have been voluntarily or involuntarily committed to any mental hospital or

institution.

7 Federal law prohibits an FFL from selling or delivering firearms other than shotguns or rifles (e.g., handguns) or ammunition 

for those firearms to any person the dealer knows or has reasonable cause to believe is under 21. 

http://www.mpdc.dc.gov/firearms
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d. Not have a history of violent behavior.

e. Not have been the respondent in an intrafamily proceeding in which a civil protection

order or a foreign protection order was issued against the applicant.

5. Not appear to suffer from a physical defect which would make it unsafe to possess and use a

firearm safely and responsibly.

6. Not have been found negligent in any firearm mishap causing death or injury to another

human being.

7. Not otherwise be ineligible to possess a firearm under D.C. Official Code § 22-4503.

III. Duties and Responsibilities of the Registrant

1. Registered Firearms and Registration Certificate :

a. Registrants must file a police report at a police district station or at FRB immediately

upon discovery of loss, theft, or destruction of a registration certificate or registered

firearm.

b. Registrants must notify FRB of:

i. Any change of name or address that differs from the one recorded on the original

certificate.

ii. Any sale, transfer or other disposition of a registered firearm.

2. The registration certificate must be returned to MPD immediately when the registered

firearm has been lost, stolen, destroyed, sold, transferred, or otherwise disposed of.

3. The registrant must have the registration certificate in his or her possession whenever he has

possession of the firearm, and show it to a member of MPD or other law enforcement officer

upon demand.

4. A violation of any of the above-listed duties may result in:

a. First violation: a civil fine of $100.

b. Second violation: a civil fine of $500, revocation of the registration of the applicable

firearm, and a 5-year prohibition on subsequent registrations.

c. Third violation: a civil fine of $1000, revocation of the registration of the applicable

firearm, and permanent prohibition on subsequent registrations.

5. Firearms or ammunition may not be loaned, borrowed, given, or rented to or from another

person.

6. Individuals can only sell a firearm to a licensed dealer in the District of Columbia. Firearms

may not be pawned.

7. Storage of firearms:

a. Policy: It is recommended that each registrant keep any firearm in his or her possession

unloaded and either disassembled or secured by a trigger lock, gun safe, locked box, or

other secure device.
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b. Criminal Offense: The law requires that no person shall store or keep any loaded firearm

on any premises under his control if he knows or reasonably should know that a minor

under the age of 18 is likely to gain access to the firearm without the permission of the

parent or guardian of the minor unless such person:

i. Keeps the firearm in a securely locked box, secured container, or in a location which

a reasonable person would believe to be secure; or

ii. Carries the firearm on his person or within such close proximity that he can readily

retrieve and use it as if he carried it on his person.

iii. If the firearm is stored at a place of business, it shall be stored in a gun safe, locked

box, or other secure device affixed to the property.

c. Penalties:

i. A person who violates subsection (b) of this section is guilty of criminally negligent

storage of a firearm and, except as provided in paragraph (ii) of this subsection, shall

be fined not more than $1,000, imprisoned not more than 180 days, or both.

ii. A person who violates subsection (b) of this section and the minor causes injury or

death to themselves or another shall be fined not more than $5,000, imprisoned not

more than 5 years, or both.

iii. The provisions of paragraphs (i) and (ii) of this subsection shall not apply if the

minor obtains the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry or burglary to any

premises by any person.

2. It is a criminal offense to discharge a firearm in the District of Columbia without first

obtaining a special written permit from the Chief of Police authorizing the discharge.

IV. Carrying Firearms

In general, you must be licensed to carry a firearm in the District concealed, while open carry is 

prohibited. However, there are exceptions for legally registered firearms. 

D.C. Official Code § 22-4504.01. Authority to carry firearm in certain places and for

certain purposes.

Notwithstanding any other law, a person holding a valid registration for a firearm may 

carry the firearm: 

(1) Within the registrant's home;

(2) While it is being used for lawful recreational purposes;

(3) While it is kept at the registrant's place of business; or

(4) While it is being transported for a lawful purpose as expressly authorized by District

or federal statute and in accordance with the requirements of that statute.

A resident or nonresident may apply for a Concealed Carry Pistol License at FRB. An eligible 

applicant must be 21 years or age, meet the requirements to register a firearm and suitability 

requirements, as well meet the required firearms safety and qualifications standards. Additional 
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information about the requirements, as well as application materials can be found online at 

mpdc.dc.gov/firearms or in person at FRB. 

V. Transporting Firearms

District transport law: 

§ 22-4504.02. Lawful transportation of firearms.

(a) Any person who is not otherwise prohibited by the law from transporting, shipping, or

receiving a firearm shall be permitted to transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from

any place where he may lawfully possess and carry the firearm [see § 22-4504.01, above]

to any other place where he may lawfully possess and carry the firearm if the firearm is

transported in accordance with this section.

(b) (1) If the transportation of the firearm is by a vehicle, the firearm shall be unloaded,

and neither the firearm nor any ammunition being transported shall be readily accessible

or directly accessible from the passenger compartment of the transporting vehicle.

(2) If the transporting vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the driver's

compartment, the firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked container

other than the glove compartment or console, and the firearm shall be unloaded.

(c) If the transportation of the firearm is in a manner other than in a vehicle, the firearm

shall be:

(1) Unloaded;

(2) Inside a locked container; and

(3) Separate from any ammunition.

Federal transport law: 

U.S. Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, 926A "Interstate Transportation of 

Firearms"; 

Notwithstanding any other provision of any law or any rule or regulation of a State or any 

political subdivision thereof, any person who is not otherwise prohibited by this chapter 

from transporting, shipping, or receiving a firearm shall be entitled to transport a firearm 

for any lawful purpose from any place where he may lawfully possess and carry such 

firearm to any other place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm if, 

during such transportation the firearm is unloaded, and neither the firearm nor any 

ammunition being transported is readily accessible or is directly accessible from the 

passenger compartment of such transporting vehicle: Provided, That in the case of a 

vehicle without a compartment separate from the driver’s compartment the firearm or 

ammunition shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or 

console.  

VI. Revocation of Registration Certificate

Registration will be revoked if: 

1. Information furnished in the application for registration proves to be intentionally false.

https://mpdc.dc.gov/firearms


August 2020      Page 13 of 15 

2. The registered firearm becomes unregistrable under Part I: Firearms Approved for

Registration.

3. The registrant becomes ineligible under the requirements in Part II, “Registrant Eligibility.”

VII. Procedures for Denial or Revocation

1. If an application for registration is denied or a registration certificate is revoked, the applicant

or registrant will be notified by mail. The applicant or registrant will have 15 days from the

receipt of such notification to appeal to the Metropolitan Police Department with further

evidence for consideration. If the applicant does not respond within the required 15 days, the

denial or revocation will become final.

2. After having been notified of a final unfavorable decision, the applicant or registrant must

peacefully surrender his firearm to FRB as detailed in Part IX: Voluntary Surrender of

Firearms, Destructive Devices, or Ammunition, remove the firearm from the District, or

otherwise lawfully dispose of the firearm.

VIII. Possession and Sale of Ammunition

1. In general, a person shall not possess ammunition within the District unless:

a. He is a licensed dealer.

b. He is a holder of a valid registration certificate for a firearm.

c. He holds an ammunition collector’s certificate effective prior to September 25, 1976.

d. He temporarily possesses ammunition while participating in a firearms training and

safety class conducted by a firearms instructor.

e. He is an officer, agent, or employee of the District of Columbia or the United States on

duty and acting within the scope of his duties when possessing such ammunition.

2. No person shall possess restricted ammunition, defined as any projectile core which may be

used in a handgun and which is constructed entirely (excluding traces of other substances)

from one or a combination of tungsten alloys, steel, iron, brass, bronze, beryllium copper, or

depleted uranium; or a full jacketed projectile larger than .22 caliber designed and intended

for use in a handgun and whose jacket has a weight of more than 25 percent of the total

weight of the projectile, or .50 caliber BMG ammunition.(D.C. Official Code § 7-2501.01

(13a))

3. No person in the District shall possess, sell, or transfer any large capacity ammunition

feeding device regardless of whether the device is attached to a firearm. A “large capacity

ammunition feeding device” means a magazine, belt, drum, feed strip, or similar device that

has a capacity of, or that can be readily restored or converted to accept, more than 10 rounds

of ammunition. This does not include an attached tubular device designed to accept, and

capable of operating only with, .22 caliber rimfire ammunition.

IX. Responsibility of Estate Executors or Administrators

The executor of or administrator of an estate containing a firearm shall notify MPD within 30 

days of his appointment. Until the lawful disposition of such firearm, the executor or 
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administrator shall be charged with the duties and responsibilities as described in Part IV, 

“Duties and Responsibilities of the Registrant.”  

X. Voluntary Surrender of Firearms, Destructive Devices, or Ammunition

If a person or organization within the District voluntarily and peaceably delivers and abandons to 

the Chief of Police any firearm, destructive device or ammunition at any time, such delivery 

shall preclude the arrest and prosecution of such person on a charge of violating any provision of 

this section with respect to the firearm, destructive device, or ammunition voluntarily delivered. 

Delivery under this section may be made at any police district, station, or central headquarters, or 

by summoning a police officer to the person’s residence or place of business. Every firearm and 

destructive device to be delivered and abandoned to the Chief under this section shall be 

unloaded and securely wrapped in a package, and, in the case of delivery to a police facility, the 

package shall be carried in open view. No person who delivers and abandons a firearm, 

destructive device, or ammunition under this section, shall be required to furnish identification, 

photographs or fingerprints. No amount of money shall be paid for any firearm, destructive 

device, or ammunition delivered and abandoned under this section. (D.C. Official Code § 7-

2507.05 (a)). 

XI. General Penalties

Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 7-2507.06, any person who violates certain provisions of 

Firearms Control Regulations Act, as amended, shall, upon conviction, be fined not more than 

$1,000 or be imprisoned for not more than one year, or both, except that: 

(1) A person who knowingly or intentionally sells, transfers, or distributes a firearm, destructive

device, or ammunition to a person under 18 years of age shall be fined not more than $ 25,000 or 

imprisoned for not more than 10 years, or both. 

(2) (A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, any person who is convicted

a second time for possessing an unregistered firearm shall be fined not more than $ 12,500 or 

imprisoned not more than 5 years, or both. 

(B) A person who in the person's dwelling place, place of business, or on other land possessed

by the person, possesses a pistol, or firearm that could otherwise be registered, shall be fined not 

more than $ 2,500 or imprisoned not more than 1 year, or both. 

(3) A person convicted of knowingly possessing restricted pistol bullets in violation of § 7-

2506.01(3) may be sentenced to imprisonment for a term not to exceed 10 years and shall be 

sentenced to imprisonment for a mandatory-minimum term of not less than 1 year and shall not 

be released from prison or granted probation or suspension of sentence prior to serving the 

mandatory-minimum sentence, and, in addition, may be fined an amount not to exceed $ 25,000. 

Additional penalties may apply. 

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=e6375790fc60c8d7945706ffe3e219c5&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bD.C.%20Code%20%a7%207-2507.06%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=DCCODE%207-2506.01&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAz&_md5=11a1e1b25b119ab91317ef5dd3e78974
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=e6375790fc60c8d7945706ffe3e219c5&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bD.C.%20Code%20%a7%207-2507.06%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=DCCODE%207-2506.01&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAz&_md5=11a1e1b25b119ab91317ef5dd3e78974
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About This Guide 

The Firearms Control Regulations Act of 1975 (or “the Act”) requires that firearms be registered 

with the Metropolitan Police Department. Subsequent legislation amends the Act, changing the 

laws and procedures governing firearms registration. This guide is intended to help provide a 

clearer understanding of this legislation, the process for registering a firearm, and your duties and 

responsibilities as a firearms owner in the District of Columbia. Specific questions may be 

directed to the Firearms Registration Branch.   

While this document and the members of the FRB aim to provide you with what you need to 

legally register and possess your firearm, for further interpretation or guidance, you may wish to 

consult with a private attorney. 

Firearms Registration Branch 

Hours: Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. 

300 Indiana Avenue, NW 

Rooms 4144 (Transfer) and 3058 (Registration) 

Washington, DC 20001 

Transfer: (202) 671-6563 

Registration: (202) 727-4275 

Email: firearms.adminbox@dc.gov 

For updates, please check our website: 

mpdc.dc.gov/firearms 

Additional information about the firearms registration process and the applicable laws is 

available at this website. Other materials include links to recent legislation, frequently asked 

questions, data on crimes committed with guns, and gun safety information. 

Issue Date: April 17, 2020 

Contents of this document are subject to change. Updated materials will be made available to 

reflect revisions to the District’s law as necessary. 


