
Civil 
Protection 

Orders

What is Full Faith and Credit?

Full faith and credit is a provision of the Violence Against 
Women Act that indicates that valid protective orders must 
be enforced throughout the country regardless of where 
they were issued.  This includes protective orders that were 
issued in:

 n All 50 states
 n Indian Tribal Lands
 n District of Columbia
 n U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, 

the Northern Mariana Islands and Guam

Make sure to contact the local authorities in any community 
you move to. In order to register your protective order there 
and find out the requirements for the order to be valid. 

What is a Civiil Protection Order?
How do I file one? 
What are the laws?

Is the Abuser Allowed to 
Have a Gun?

No! The Federal Brandy Law prohibits individuals who are 
subject to a domestic violence restraining order, and those 
who have been convicted of a domestic violence misde-
meanor from possessing, carrying, using or purchasing a 
firearm. 

A guide to getting educated and getting help.

WHERE TO TURN FOR HELP

Domestic Violence Unit
300 Indiana Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Office: 202-727-5932 | Fax: 202-727-6491
http://www.mpdc.dc.gov/victimassistance

Police
 In an emergency, dial 911
 Metropolitan Police Department:
 1st District: (202) 698-0555
  1DSubstation: (202) 698-0068
 2nd District: (202) 715-7300
 3rd District: (202) 673-6815
 4th District: (202) 715-7400
  4DSubstation: (202) 576-8222
 5th District: (202) 698-0150
 6th District: (202) 698-0880
  6DSubstation: (202) 698-2088
 7th District: (202) 698-1500

National 
 National Domestic Violence Hotline
 (800) 799-SAFE (7233)

Local
 Domestic Violence Intake Center
  DC Superior Court 
  500 Indiana Avenue, NW, Room 4550
  Washington, DC
  NW:  (202) 879-0152

  2041 Martin Luther King, Jr., Avenue, SE, Room 400   
  Washington, DC 20020 
  (202) 879-1500  
  
  Online: https://www.probono.net/dccourts/
 
 24-hour shelters, Hotlines and Counseling:
  House of Ruth:  (202) 667-7001 x 217
  My Sister’s Place: (202) 529-5991

 Financial Assistance
  Crime Victims Compensation Program: 
  (202) 879-4216

 Legal Assistance
  American University:  (202) 274-4140
  Legan Aid Society:  (202) 628-1161 
     www.legalaiddc.org
  Bread for the City: (202) 265-2400
  SAFE:   (202) 879-7857



HOW DO I GET A CPO?

You may apply for a CPO online or in person. To complete forms 
online go to https://www.probono.net/dccourts/ and follow the 
instructions.

If you wish to file in person, go to the Domestic Violence Intake 
Center at either of the following locations: 

DC Superior Court 
500 Indiana Avenue, NW, Room 4550
Washington, DC
(202) 879-0152

2041 Martin Luther King, Jr., Avenue, SE, Room 400  
Washington, DC 20020
(202) 879-1500

Both centers are open from 8:30 am-4 pm, Monday-Friday.  

Be prepared to provide the following information when filing 
a CPO/TPO/ETPO.

 n The work and home address and phone number of the indi-
vidual you are filing against. Include a physical description of 
the abuser and any aliases.

 n Any evidence of abuse to you or your children that you have 
collected, including pictures, letters, phone messages, dam-
aged clothing, etc.

 n Your address and any phone numbers where you can be 
reached by an advocate. 

It may be possible to obtain an Emergency Temporary Protec-
tion Order (ETPO), which is good until up to 5 days. If you are in 
an emergency situation and wish to file for an ETPO when the 
intake centers are not open, call the police and they will put you 
in contact with a SAFE advocate who will explain the process of 
obtaining an ETPO.

WHAT HAPPENS IF HE/SHE  
VIOLATES THE CPO?

In order to enforce your CPO, contact the police and provide 
any evidence that proves the respondent violated the order.  
The more evidence of  violation you have, the more likely the 
respondent will  be convicted of contempt.  Here are some 
ways to document contact:

 n Write it down. Keep a journal or a log; it is sometimes 
difficult to remember.

 n Save evidence. Voicemail messages, letters/enve-
lopes, cellular phone bills,  hard copies of emails, and 
pictures are all froms of evidence.

 n Get witness statements. Get statements from 
anyone who was present when the violation occurred. 

 n Keep a copy of the CPO with you.

 n Document Abuse. Go directly to the hospital after an 
assault, tell hospital staff that you have a protection order, 
take pictures of physical damage (bruises, cuts, etc.).

WHAT IS A  
CIVIL PROTECTION ORDER?

A Civil Protection Order (CPO) is a court order is-
sued by a judge, lasting up to one year, designed 
to provide long-term protection from an abuser. 
The CPO orders your abuser to stop abusing 
and/or threatening you, to stay away from you, 
not to contact you in any way, and provides other 
forms of relief that you need to be safe.

WHO CAN GET A CPO?  

You can get a CPO if you have been physically 
abused, threatened, or stalked by a person to whom 
you are related by blood, adoption, marriage, or 
with whom you have a child in common, share or 
have shared the same home, or have or previously 
had a dating relationship (it does not need to be a 
sexual relationship). You must live in DC or at least 
one incident must have occurred in DC to seek 
protection from the DC Court. However, the order 
will protect you in all states.

When Do I File for a CPO?
You should file for a Civil Protection Order as soon as possible after the abuse occurs. You can 
file for a CPO up to two years after the incident. However, a delay in filing may make the judge 
less likely to believe you. The process of filing for a CPO can take several hours, so please plan 
accordingly. Make sure you leave plenty of time to arrive at the court before it closes at 4 pm.


