Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Metropolitan Police Department

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Patrol Services Bureau

Effective Sunday, April 23, 2017, the Patrol Services and School Safety Bureau was divided into two bureaus: Patrol Services North (PSN) and Patrol Services South (PSS). Patrol Services North is comprised of the Second, Third, Fourth, and Fifth Police Districts and Patrol Services South is comprised of the First, Sixth, and Seventh Police Districts.

Each patrol bureau is led by a Patrol Chief, who will ensure a seamless transition and provide executive command leadership for MPD’s patrol operations to better serve residents and meet community needs. This new structure supports the growth of the District of Columbia and will provide the Chief of Police and executive staff with additional visibility and insight into MPD’s patrol activities and services.

Lamar Greene serves as the Patrol Chief of the PSN Bureau and Chanel Dickerson serves as the Patrol Chief of the PSS Bureau. Both Assistant Chiefs Greene and Dickerson have extensive experience in patrol as well as in intelligence, special operations, and internal roles throughout the Department.

As part of this realignment, MPD’s School Safety Branch (SSB) has moved under the Investigative Services Bureau (ISB), reporting directly to the ISB Assistant Chief. This transition helps facilitate MPD’s youth services and investigations, as well as more effectively align the Department’s outreach and support efforts for children and families throughout the city.