mpdc

Metropolitan Police Department
 

DC Agency Top Menu


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Boating Safety Courses

harbor patrolThe MPD Harbor Patrol Unit will be hosting free one-day, 8-hour boating safety courses for the 2019 boating season. Each class includes the course materials. The Boating Safety course is designed to educate boaters of the legal requirements, navigational rules, safety equipment, risks of boating accidents, and other issues pertaining to safe boating. Anyone operating a vessel on District of Columbia waterways is required to have a Boating Safety Certificate. The Boating Safety Certificate is issued to individuals who successfully complete the Boating Safety course.

Registration

Pre-registration for the Boating Safety course is required. Individuals may call the MPD Harbor Patrol Unit at (202) 727-4582. Organizations who wish to set up group classes of 10 or more can email Officer David Nutter at [email protected].

Course Schedule

The Boating Safety course consists of eight hours of instruction offered in one-day classes. Each class begins at 7 am and ends at 3 pm. Courses are offered at the Harbor Patrol's offices, 550 Water Street, SW, in Washington, DC. The training is free; photo ID is required.

Course No Date (1-day, 8-hour course) Day
19-01 March 2 Saturday
19-02 March 16 Saturday
19-03 March 24 Sunday
19-04 April 13 Saturday
19-05 April 21 Sunday
19-06 April 27 Saturday
19-07 May 5 Sunday
19-08 May 11 Saturday
19-09 May 25 Saturday
19-10 June 8 Saturday
19-11 June 16 Sunday
19-12 June 29 Saturday
19-13 July 13 Saturday
19-14 July 21 Sunday
19-15 July 27 Saturday
19-16 August 10 Saturday
19-17 August 18 Sunday
19-18 August 31 Saturday
19-19 September 8 Sunday
19-20 September 28 Saturday
19-21 October 12 Saturday
19-22 October 26 Saturday
19-23 November 3 Sunday
19-24 November 23 Saturday