mpdc

Metropolitan Police Department
 

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Boating Safety Courses, 2022

harbor patrolThe MPD Harbor Patrol Unit will be hosting free one-day, 8-hour boating safety courses for the 2021 boating season. Each class includes the course materials. The Boating Safety course is designed to educate boaters of the legal requirements, navigational rules, safety equipment, risks of boating accidents, and other issues pertaining to safe boating. Anyone operating a vessel on District of Columbia waterways is required to have a Boating Safety Certificate. The Boating Safety Certificate is issued to individuals who successfully complete the Boating Safety course.

Registration

Pre-registration for the Boating Safety course is required. Please call the MPD Harbor Patrol Unit at (202) 727-4582 to register.

Course Schedule

The Boating Safety course consists of eight hours of instruction offered in one-day classes. Each class begins at 7 am and ends at 3 pm. Courses are offered at the Harbor Patrol's offices, 550 Water Street, SW, in Washington, DC. The training is free; photo ID is required.

Each class is limited to 15 students. Masks are required.

  1. Sunday, March 6
  2. Saturday, March 19
  3. Saturday, April 9
  4. Sunday, April 24
  5. Sunday May 1
  6. Saturday, May 14
  7. Saturday, June 4
  8. Sunday, June 19
  9. Sunday, July 10
  10. Saturday, July 23
  11. Sunday, August 14
  12. Saturday, August 27
  13. Saturday, September 10
  14. Sunday, September 25
  15. Saturday, October 9
  16. Sunday, October 22