mpdc

Metropolitan Police Department
 

DC Agency Top Menu


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Boating Safety Courses

harbor patrolThe MPD Harbor Patrol Unit will be hosting free one-day, 8-hour boating safety courses for the 2019 boating season. Each class includes the course materials. The Boating Safety course is designed to educate boaters of the legal requirements, navigational rules, safety equipment, risks of boating accidents, and other issues pertaining to safe boating. Anyone operating a vessel on District of Columbia waterways is required to have a Boating Safety Certificate. The Boating Safety Certificate is issued to individuals who successfully complete the Boating Safety course.

Registration

Pre-registration for the Boating Safety course is required. Individuals may call the MPD Harbor Patrol Unit at (202) 727-4582. Organizations who wish to set up group classes of 10 or more can email Officer David Nutter at [email protected].

Course Schedule

The Boating Safety course consists of eight hours of instruction offered in one-day classes. Each class begins at 7 am and ends at 3 pm. Courses are offered at the Harbor Patrol's offices, 550 Water Street, SW, in Washington, DC. The training is free; photo ID is required.

Course No Date (1-day, 8-hour course) Day
20-01 February 29 Saturday
20-02 March 21 Saturday

20-03

March 29 Sunday

20-04

April 11 Saturday
20-05 April 19 Sunday
20-06 April 25 Saturday
20-07 May 9 Saturday
20-08 May 17 Sunday
20-09 May 30 Saturday
20-10 June 7 Sunday
20-11 June 20 Saturday
20-12 June 28 Sunday
20-13 July 11 Saturday
20-14 July 19 Sunday
20-15 August 1 Saturday
20-16 August 16 Sunday
20-17 August 29 Saturday
20-18 September 12 Saturday
20-19 September 26 Saturday
20-20 October 17 Saturday
20-21 November 21 Saturday