Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Boating Safety Courses 2015

harbor patrolThe MPD Harbor Patrol Unit will be hosting free one-day, 8-hour boating safety courses for the 2015 boating season. Each class includes the course materials. The Boating Safety course is designed to educate boaters of the legal requirements, navigational rules, safety equipment, risks of boating accidents, and other issues pertaining to safe boating. Anyone operating a vessel on District of Columbia waterways is required to have a Boating Safety Certificate. The Boating Safety Certificate is issued to individuals who successfully complete the Boating Safety course.

The Boating Safety course consists of eight hours of instruction offered in one-day classes. Each class begins at 7 AM and ends at 3 PM.Courses are offered at the Harbor Patrol's offices, 550 Water Street, SW, in Washington, DC.

Registration

Pre-registration for the Boating Safety course is required. Individuals may call the MPD Harbor Patrol Unit at (202) 727-4582. Organizations who wish to set up group classes of 10 or more can email Officer Dennis Hamel at dennis.hamel@dc.gov or Sergeant Jeffrey Blevins at jeffrey.blevins@dc.gov.

Course Schedule

Course No Dates (1-day, 8-hour Courses) Time
15-01 Saturday, February 21, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-02 Sunday, February 22, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-03 Saturday, March 7, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-04 Sunday, March 8, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-05 Saturday, March 21, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-06 Sunday, March 22, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-07 Sunday, April 18, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-08 Sunday, April 19, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-09 Sunday, April 26, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-10 Saturday, May 2, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-11 Sunday, May 3, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-12 Saturday, May 16, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-13 Sunday, May 17, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-14 Sunday, June 7, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-15 Saturday, June 13, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-16 Sunday, June 14, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-17 Saturday, June 27, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-18 Sunday, June 28, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-19 Saturday, July 11, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-20 Sunday, July 12, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-21 Saturday, July 25, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-22 Sunday, July 26, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-23 Sunday, August 2, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-24 Saturday, August 8, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-25 Sunday, August 9, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-26 Saturday, August 22, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-27 Sunday, August 23, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-28 Saturday, September 5, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-29 Saturday, September 19, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-30 Sunday, September 20, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-31 Saturday, October 3, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-32 Sunday, October 18, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-33 Saturday, November 14, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
15-34 Sunday, November 15, 2015 7:00 am – 3:00 pm