Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Boating Safety Courses 2014

harbor patrolThe MPD Harbor Patrol Unit will be hosting free one-day, 8-hour boating safety courses for the 2014 boating season. Each class includes the course materials. The Boating Safety course is designed to educate boaters of the legal requirements, navigational rules, safety equipment, risks of boating accidents, and other issues pertaining to safe boating. Anyone operating a vessel on District of Columbia waterways is required to have a Boating Safety Certificate. The Boating Safety Certificate is issued to individuals who successfully complete the Boating Safety course.

The Boating Safety course consists of eight hours of instruction offered in one-day classes. Each class begins at 7 AM and ends at 3 PM.Courses are offered at the Harbor Patrol's offices, 550 Water Street, SW, in Washington, DC.

Registration

Pre-registration for the Boating Safety course is required. Individuals may call the MPD Harbor Patrol Unit at (202) 727-4582. Organizations who wish to set up group classes of 10 or more can email Officer Dennis Hamel at dennis.hamel@dc.gov or Sergeant Jeffrey Blevins at jeffrey.blevins@dc.gov.

Course Schedule

Course No Dates (1-day, 8-hour Courses) Time
14-01 Saturday, February 22, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-02 Sunday, March 16, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-03 Saturday, March 22, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-04 Sunday, March 30, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-05 Saturday, April 5, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-06 Saturday, April 19, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-07 Sunday, April 27, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-08 Saturday, May 3, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-09 Saturday, May 17, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-10 Sunday, May 25, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-11 Saturday, May 31, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-12 Sunday, June 8, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-13 Satuday, June 14, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-14 Sunday, June 22, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-15 Saturday, June 28, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-16 Sunday, July 6, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-17 Saturday, July 12, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-18 Sunday, July 20, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-19 Saturday, July 26, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-20 Sunday, August 3, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-21 Saturday, August 9, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-22 Sunday, August 17, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-23 Saturday, August 23, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-24 Saturday, September 6, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-25 Sunday, September 14, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-26 Saturday, October 4, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-27 Sunday, October 12, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-28 Saturday, November 1, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm
14-29 Sunday, November 9, 2014 7:00 am – 3:00 pm