Firearms Registration Renewal: Complete Renewal Procedures
LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Gun owners given sufficient renewal window (1/9/2014)
MPD Chief of Police Cathy L. Lanier's letter to the editor was published in the Washington Times on Thursday, January 9, 2014
MPD will be mailing out renewal notices and applications to all persons on record with MPD as having registered a firearm in the District of Columbia. All registration renewals will be done at MPD’s Firearms Registration Section (FRS), located at 300 Indiana Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001.
Individuals with firearms registered prior to 2011 must renew their firearms registrations over the course of two years, with the renewal dates based on the registrant’s date of birth. MPD will process firearms registration renewals during regular business hours and will offer evening hours Tuesdays and Thursdays by appointment only.
An individual must renew their firearms registrations on the following schedule:
|If you were born between:||You must renew your registration between:|
|January 1 and February 15||January 1, 2014 and March 31, 2014|
|February 16 and March 31||April 1, 2014 and June 30, 2014|
|April 1 and May 15||July 1, 2014 and September 30, 2014|
|May 16 and June 30||October 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014|
|July 1 and August 15||January 1, 2015 and March 31, 2015|
|August 16 and September 30||April 1, 2015 and June 30, 2015|
|October 1 and November 15||July 1, 2015 and September 30, 2015|
|November 16 and December 31||October 1, 2015 and December 31, 2015|
Step 1: Receive a Notice of Firearms Registration Renewal
MPD will mail out notices and application forms to all firearms registrants. The notice will contain a three-month window for the registrant to come to FRS to renew their firearms registration. You can renew your firearms registration at any point during the three-month window.
Step 2: Complete MPD’s Firearms Registration Renewal Application.
- The form can be downloaded below or can be obtained at the Firearms Registration Section (FRS).
- Fill out the form, check the appropriate boxes on compliance with District and federal gun possession laws, provide information on the registered firearms (including the location where the firearms are located), sign and date the form.
- If you need to renew the registration of more than three firearms, use the Additional Registered Firearms form which can be downloaded below or obtained at the FRS.
Step 3: Submit the completed Firearms Registration Renewal Application in person to FRS.
Visit the FRS at 300 Indiana Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001 and bring:
- A government-issued photo identification;
- Your firearms registration certificate, if you have it;
- If you don’t have your firearms registration certificate, you must provide the model, make, and serial number of any firearm in your possession.
- DO NOT BRING ANY FIREARMS WITH YOU.
- The FRS will accept renewal applications Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
You can also schedule an appointment for evening hours on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.
You can schedule an appointment online or by calling FRS at (202)-727-4275.
You will be required to:
- Submit the completed Firearms Registration Renewal Application;
- Complete a criminal background form; and
- Be fingerprinted by MPD.
Step 4: Pay the appropriate fees.
- Regardless of the number of firearms you have registered, you will pay a total of $48, which includes a registration fee of $13 and a fingerprinting/FBI background check fee of $35.
- You can pay the fee using cash, MasterCard, Visa, or money order (made payable to “D.C. Treasurer”).
Step 5: Receive a Temporary Firearms Registration Certificate from FRS.
Once you have submitted all the required documents, been fingerprinted, and paid the fees, you will receive a Temporary Firearms Registration Certificate. This temporary certificate is valid for ten business days from the date the renewal application is submitted to FRS. You should keep this temporary certificate until you receive your firearms registration renewal card in the mail.
Upon passing the criminal background check, your firearms registration renewal card will be mailed to you within 10 business days.
Your firearms registration renewal will be valid for three years from date of issuance. Subsequent registration renewals will be done online or by mail.
If you do not renew your firearms registration within 30 days of the deadline (meaning, the 90-day renewal window plus a 30-day grace period), you will pay a nominal penalty, with the renewal fee doubling from $13 to $26.
If you fail to renew your firearms registration within 90 days of the deadline (meaning, the 90-day renewal window, plus the 30-day grace period plus 60 additional days) you will have your firearms registration cancelled.
Under District law, anyone in possession of an unregistered firearm may face criminal charges punishable by a fine up to $1,000 or 1 year in jail, or both.