Metropolitan Police Department

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Commissioners for the Commission on Human Rights

Commissioners AFter Swearing-In Ceremony

The Commission is currently comprised of 13 Commissioners, who are nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The current Commissioners -- sworn-in by Mayor Vincent C. Gray in July 2012 -- are:

Nkechi Taifa – Attorney with a Public Interest Organization

Michael E. Ward – Attorney in Private Practice

Edwin Powell – Court Expert/ Examiner and Professor with Private University

Motoko Aizawa – Staff of a Multilateral Development Bank

Javier Araujo -- Official with a Federal Agency

Alexandra Beninda – Systems Analyst

Earline Budd – Founding member and staff member of a Private Health Organization

Rahim Jenkins – Official with a District Government Agency

Mathew McCollough – Executive Director of a Community Based Advocacy Council

Denise Reed – Manager with a Criminal Justice System Organization

John D. Robinson – University Professor of Surgery and Psychiatry

Gabriel Rojo – Social Worker