mpdc

Metropolitan Police Department
 

DC Agency Top Menu


Heat Emergency - A heat emergency is in effect for Washington, DC. Residents are urged to take precautions against the heat.

Find cooling centers, spray parks and more information about heat emergencies.

 

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Boating Safety Courses

harbor patrolThe MPD Harbor Patrol Unit will be hosting free one-day, 8-hour boating safety courses for the 2016 boating season. Each class includes the course materials. The Boating Safety course is designed to educate boaters of the legal requirements, navigational rules, safety equipment, risks of boating accidents, and other issues pertaining to safe boating. Anyone operating a vessel on District of Columbia waterways is required to have a Boating Safety Certificate. The Boating Safety Certificate is issued to individuals who successfully complete the Boating Safety course.

Registration

Pre-registration for the Boating Safety course is required. Individuals may call the MPD Harbor Patrol Unit at (202) 727-4582. Organizations who wish to set up group classes of 10 or more can email Officer David Nutter at david.nutter@dc.gov.

Course Schedule

The Boating Safety course consists of eight hours of instruction offered in one-day classes. Each class begins at 7 am and ends at 3 pm. Courses are offered at the Harbor Patrol's offices, 550 Water Street, SW, in Washington, DC.

Course No Date (1-day, 8-hour course) Day
16-01 February 20 Saturday
16-02 February 27 Saturday
16-03 February 28 Sunday
16-04 March 5 Saturday
16-05 March 12 Saturday
16-06 March 13 Sunday
16-07 April 2 Saturday
16-08 April 3 Sunday
16-09 April 16 Saturday
16-10 April 17 Sunday
16-11 May 7 Saturday
16-12 May 14 Saturday
16-13 May 15 Sunday
16-14 May 21 Saturday
16-15 June 4 Saturday
16-16 June 5 Sunday
16-17 June 25 Saturday
16-18 June 26 Sunday
16-19 July 9 Saturday
16-20 July 10 Sunday
16-21 July 23 Saturday
16-22 July 24 Sunday
16-23 August 7 Sunday
16-24 August 13 Saturday
16-25 August 20 Saturday
16-26 August 21 Sunday
16-27 September 3 Saturday
16-28 September 4 Sunday
16-29 September 17 Saturday
16-30 September 18 Sunday
16-31 October 1 Saturday
16-32 October 15 Saturday
16-33 October 29 Saturday
16-34 November 12 Saturday
16-35 November 26 Saturday